Court Imposed Penalties for DUI

COURT IMPOSED FINES AND PENALTIES

In New Jersey, Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) is using a point system for decreasing traffic violence. MVC penalizes you by adding points to your driving record after every violation encountered by you. Violations like moving against traffic, improper passing, driving through safety zone,Driving Under Influence (DUI), Driving While Impaired (DWI), DUI in School Zone and racing on a highway may lead you to get points. The government has decided different points and penalties for every violation committed by the drivers.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI)

If an individual operates a vehicle, with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or above is thought to be driving under the influence (DUI).

First Offense – BAC 0.08% but less than 0.10%

  • $250-$400 fine
  • 12-48 hours at IDRC
  • License suspension for 3 months
  • at most 30 days imprisonment.

First Offense – BAC 0.10% or higher

  • $300-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours IDRC
  • License suspension for 7 months to 1 year/
  • at most 30 days imprisonment.

Second Offense

  • $1,000 fine
  • 12-48 hours IDRC
  • License suspension for 2 years
  • 48 hours – 90 days imprisonment

Third Offense

  • $1,000 fine
  • 12-48 hours IDRC
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • 90 days community service
  • 180 days imprisonment.

DUI IN SCHOOL ZONE OR SCHOOL CROSSING

First Offense

  • $500-$800 fine
  • License suspension for 12-24 months
  • 60 days imprisonment

Second Offense

  • $1,000-$2,000 fine
  • License suspension for at least 48 months
  • 60 days community service
  • 96 hours-180 days imprisonment

Third Offense

  • $2,000 fine
  • License suspension for 20 years
  • 180 days imprisonment

REFUSING THE CHEMICAL TEST

First Offense

  • $300-$500 fine
  • License suspension for 7 months to 1 year
  • 12 hours minimum IDRC

Second Offense

  • License suspension for 2 years

Third and Subsequent Offenses

  • $1,000 fine
  • License suspension for 10 years
  • 12 hours minimum IDRC

REFUSING CHEMICAL TEST IN SPECIAL AREAS

First Offense

  • $600-$1,000 fine
  • License suspension for 1 to 2 years
  • 12 hours minimum IDRC

Second Offense

  • $1,000-$2,000 fine
  • License suspension for 4 years
  • 12 hours minimum IDRC

Third and Subsequent Offenses

  • $2,000 fine
  • License suspension for 20 years
  • 12 hours minimum IDRC

UNDERAGE

21 years is the legitimate age in New Jersey to purchase an alcoholic beverage. If an individual who is under 21 and drives a vehicle with BAC 0.01% or more the penalties are:

Minimum

  • 30-90 days driving benefit suspension if the individual has the license or 30-90 day prohibition from having a license.
  • 15-30 days mandatory community service, participation in an IDRC or other alcohol education program

Maximum

  • DUI sentences

SURCHARGES – ALCOHOL VIOLATIONS

Along with fines and penalties imposed by the court, if an individual is convicted of DUI or chemical test refusal is subject to:

  • A surcharge on insurance of $1,000 per year for three years for the first and second offense within a three-year period.
  • A surcharge on insurance of $1,500 per year for three years for a third offense.
  • A single $100 DUI enforcement surcharge

The additional charges will be forced on a New Jersey or an out-of-state conviction. Inability to pay the extra charge will bring about uncertain suspension of every driving benefit and the documenting of a judgment against any personal property.

SURCHARGES – POINT VIOLATIONS/OTHER

If an individual got 6 or more points on his current driving record, he will be sentenced to an insurance additional charge of $150 for six points and $25 for each additional point. If any individual fails to pay these surcharges, MVC suspends all his driving privileges. Other violations subject to a surcharge are:

  • driving while unlicensed $100
  • failing to insure a MOPED $100
  • driving while suspended $250/Court or MVC imposed
  • operating an uninsured vehicle $250

The government of New Jersey does not issue special work licenses. If a person’s license is suspended then he/she must not drive until that privilege is restored.